Winners Take it All at this years Animation Dingle Awards

Animation Dingle went digital again this year, and the first day of its two-day program was capped off by the Animation Dingle Awards.

Students and industry professionals competed across 15 categories with the added industry award – the now iconic Murakami Award – which is given each year to a new recipient.

Animation Dingle celebrated 10 years this year, and the programme this year was fresher than ever – introducing new elements from VR and gaming and examining the ever blurred lines between. Perhaps this is a category Animation Dingle will incorporate in future years’ awards?

With over 100 films from 20 countries worldwide in competition, this year it was a tough call for the Judges. This year’s judges included: Peter Lord of Aardman Animations, Patricia Hidalgo of BBC, Orion Ross of Disney, Suzanne Kelly of RTÉjr, Lousie Bucknole of Milkshake!, Eimear O’Mahony of RTÉjr, Sarah Muller of BBC, Mandy Kean of Mustard Studio, Kate Morton of BBC, Will Collins – Screenwriter, Deirdre Barry of Salty Dog Pictures, Ben Hennessy – Illustrator, Louise Burgess of Milkshake!, Rob Cullen of Boulder Media and Mark Cumberton of Jam Media

Without further ado, here’s a complete list of winners:

Best Irish Student sponsored by RTÉjr: This is Why Sean Roberts from IADT

This is Why also won Best Writer sponsored by Animation Ireland and National Talent Academy for Animation:

Suzanne Kelly RTÉjr says:
“Really nice storytelling sensitively realised”

Deirdre Barry says:
“A very relevant and relatable story, well told from both sides.”

Best International Student sponsored by CBBC: Seine’s tears from Pôle 3D, France
Best Director sponsored by Enterprise Ireland: Seine’s tears from Pôle 3D, France
Best 3D/CGI sponsored by Boulder Media: Seine’s tears from Pôle 3D, France
Directed by Yanis Belaid, Eliott Benard, Nicolas Mayeur, Etienne Moulin, Hadrien Pinot, Lisa Vicente, Philippine Singer, Alice Letailleur

Patricia Hidalgo, BBC says:
“Very poignant and emotional story, incredibly well executed, credible and engaging character design, impeccable art direction, animation, music and sound design and ambiance. This film showcases and brilliantly masters a great array of different techniques.

Sarah Muller BBC says:
“Deeply affecting, it is so memorable that this shocking historical event is brought to life in an effective and sympathetic way – bringing the tragic history of 1961 to a new audience”.

Kate Morton BBC says:
“Startling, enthralling and moving film.”
Suzanne Kelly RTÉjr says:
“Really moving – Fantastic character design and immersive storytelling”
Best Design/Art Direction sponsored by JAM Media: The Forty Foot Patrick O’ Callaghan from IADT
Best Animation sponsored by MILKSHAKE!: The Forty Foot from IADT

Best 2D sponsored by Cartoon Saloon: Shelly Banks Alex Hughes from BCFE

Suzanne Kelly RTÉjr says:
“Loved this film…I laughed out loud”

Best Stop Motion sponsored by Aardman Animations: An Ostrich Told Me the World is Fake and I Think I Believe It Lachlan Pendragon from Griffith Film School, Australia

Peter Lords says:
“This is done with immense flair and inventiveness. The voices are great and for me, tonally, it doesn’t put a foot wrong … Just clever and funny”

Best Music/Sound Design sponsored by EGG Post Production Studios: The Guitar Domhnall Cotter from IADT

Eimear O’Mahony RTÉjr says
“Brilliant storytelling through very intricate and subtle sound design”



Best Irish Professional Short sponsored by the IDA: Fall Of The Ibis King by Josh O’Caoimh and Mikai Geronimo
Ben Hennessy says
“Really strong film, I really enjoyed it”

Mandy Kean, Co-founder & CEO, Mustard Studio says:
“It’s a really intense watch and thoroughly enjoyable.”

Best International Professional Short sponsored by Nickelodeon: Affairs of the Art by Joanna Quinn

Louise Bucknole, Milkshake says:
“Fantastic! The narration and comedy of the piece is brilliant, with a really unique hand drawn style and design. As an observational comedy, it is really well constructed and the storytelling blends well with the animation. The core character comes across as larger than life and has some funny, yet darker moments to draw on the emotional engagement for the audience watching. This is an outstanding piece of work and I thoroughly enjoyed watching this!”

Best Animated Short Audience Choice Award sponsored by Lighthouse Studios, decided on by the audience; Catalyst – Ulster University – Caitlin Gillespie, Patrick Gallagher, Matthew Kernaghan

Murakami Recipient 2022 sponsored by Brown Bag Films: Eileen Bell, Senior Business Development adviser with Enterprise Ireland.


And finally:
Best Sting presented by JAM Media and Animation Dingle!
The Call Shay Commander from University of Dundee

Honourable mention
The Littlest Biggest Fan by Jack Casserly in TUS Athlone
Magical An Phiast by Nico Rylands from BCFE

Young Animator of the Year(YAOTY) sponsored by the Disney Channel.
Selected by Orion Ross from Disney: Planet Play Pause by Max Hendrickson from Mount Temple Comprehensive School
Judge Orion Ross, Disney says:
“Even without character animation, it tells a moving, magical, cosmic story and provokes a strong emotional response through its mood, music and beautiful combination of hand-made and electronic design. It starts small and really builds to something powerful.”